WHO DID YOU LEAVE AN IMPRESSION ON? HOW DID THEY SURPRISE YOU?

Who Have You Left An Impression On?

In the eighties, I left the United Kingdom and traveled to America and I still call it home. No matter the problems and other issues the country faces, I’m grateful that I have the best of both worlds. For those who weren’t born in the eighties, email or text was unknown but how easier it has made our lives.  

An email was introduced to us in the middle nineties and text followed sometime thereafter and grew to what it is today. But I often miss writing letters to people. Emails can be business-like or plain. I still believe that most of your best writing comes when you sit down and scribble on the parchment.

So recently, I visited the hospital for a final treatment after overcoming breast cancer. As I walked into the clinic room, a woman dressed in a light blue uniform said, ”Morning.” She looked at me and pointed. ”I know you from somewhere,” she said, before taking my vital signs and blood pressure.

I was puzzled at first and politely listened as she brought me back into the eighties when we visited wine bars and dressed like we were business people. I called the encounter ”A divine appointment.” A few days ago, she was looking at letters I wrote her in the eighties from the United States. What was more remarkable, she kept those letters. I don’t remember what I wrote. I was speechless. For her to keep those words I wrote must have made some impression and I was surprised. To top the encounter off, she plans to bring the letters to show me in a week. Wow!

Who do you think you’ve impressed in the past or present? What were the words you exchanged? Could those words have changed that person’s life? I still can’t believe she kept those letters, and it gave me the idea to write a short story and entitle it, ”The letters She Kept.

Leave a comment