HOW TO FIND AN EDITOR?

FIND THE BEST

You’re not looking for someone just to correct sentence structure and hear your voice. You’re looking for a relationship. A sort of chemistry because your work is intimate and precious. Do we fit one another? Will we get along?

I chose my editor based on several things:

  • First, I didn’t find her on Facebook. If you have it’s all right. I discovered her on Reedsy.com.
  • I’m interviewing candidates for an important problem I need to solve.
  • Some of the candidates wanted to jump right in and edit but the editor I chose liked the summary but asked me to work on it some more.
  • She edited a few lines of the first chapter of Novel #2 and I was overjoyed.
  • She suggested finding a beta reader, critique partner and paid me a compliment which was encouraging.

Most importantly, I chose her because she was interested in solving my problem without jumping ahead for the money she could earn. She has vast experience working in the publishing world and I could tell by her attitude and knowledge. In short, I felt comfortable with her and sharing my work.

Leave a comment