HEMINGWAY’S LIST ON WHAT IS GOOD WRITING

Some time ago, I read a book written by Ernest Hemingway and felt I was in the room with him. He laid the mat, if you will, for me, a writer and explains whose a writer? He answered the question I’ve always asked and couldn’t seem to hear a clear answer from others, such as literary agents and other forms of publication. It was as if the answer was a magic bullet. For instance, If you don’t do this or, that then you can’t write.  

Well, may I say, Hemingway, without any drawn-out prose, stated the real explanation? It was so beautiful that no one anymore should come up with some excuse not to help the writer. 

  1. He wrote Good writing is when the reader learns something new (p.5, 1952).
  2. As you write your fiction and it becomes a real experience the reader can identify with, you are a writer.
  3. Of course, and no doubt the usage of your imagination. I couldn’t agree more.  
  4. What experiences have you had? One of my novels is from experience based on when I lived in San Francisco and the places I visited. In short, Hemingway called it reporting.
  5. I was surprised at this reveal. Write from hurt. I will keep this in mind for my future work.
  6. Put your emotion and feeling into the work.
  7. I wondered what he would say today about longer novels. He said,[I wasn’t sure I could] write anything long’ (p. 33).
  8. He believed in writing with ease and make it simple. (p. 34).
  9. You must travel.
  10. This an easy one. Don’t forget the mention the weather in your prose.

Source Cited: Hemingway, Ernest, ‘On Writing,’ (Larry W. Phillips and Mary Welsh Hemingway, 1984).

Leave a comment