Share a piece I wrote and how I’ve grown as a writer and what I’ve learned from it.

The working title started as ‘The Woman Billionaire,’ or ‘Not Letting Go.’

I found in an old bag, in my mini-storage room in my rented house or precisely an extension of the kitchen.  

A few of the characters were the following: 

  •  Detective Chief Inspector Tammy Luck.
  • Sam Powell–Attorney to Miriam Valentino.
  • Miriam Valentino & Mike Valentino-The murdered victims.
  • Setting–Santa Monica–A place I’ve always wanted to live.

So what were some of the problems I tried to introduce?

Mike Valentino, the love of DCI Luck’s life, discovered his mother is the reclusive billionaire Miriam Valentino and found murdered in one of her many gowns in the top suite of her mansion.

Fake adoptions papers appear, but Miriam didn’t give him up for adoption. Due to her reputation, she hired a nanny to care for him in Spain, and that’s where he was hiding away at a boarding house.

Another problem, DCI Luck has to deal with his loss because evidence showed he was in the library with his tongue stuck to the right side of his face–possibly poisoning.

By whom?

Amy Valentino is the relative who stands to gain the family fortune. She befriends Sam Powell, the estate’s attorney, and he ends up in a hospital with a bad issue dealing with his stomach. He thinks poison is involved.

So how have I grown as a writer? I love a mystery. I know for sure the first draft of any writing is not the best. Will I use this information in my next novel? I’m not sure. However, I’ll replace Mike Valentino’s name because he is the love interest of my DCI, and we can’t have him dying off, not anytime soon.

Also, some questions I asked myself for research.

What are some of the most common things woman billionaires share? Besides money. I can spot when a sentence is not right, and reading aloud–does it flow into the other sentence.

Another idea I had of her pictured in Monaco, South of France, and it’s 1965. Her life is an ocean view, and she hears news that she is twelve weeks pregnant with a child and fears of being disinherited by the American prominent strict family who sells buildings and land for public schools.

I’m not sure if I’ll use this piece in the future, but if anyone has an opinion, please share it.

Leave a comment