A monthly post about what I’m currently reading.

A few weeks ago, I decided to re-read ”Think & Grow Rich.” A book has encouraged my writing and persistence. At present, I’m reading the chapter on ”Decision.” In my estimation, there is no way we can get away from making a decision.

If we fail to make any decision, it will and does cost us. In the pages of this topic, Napoleon Hill writes that are going to be people in your life who will try to stir your decision-making in what they think is best for you. For example and this is my interjection. I knew no matter who was talking. I had to push forward because no one was going to save me and make my present or future better. In short, I had enough of employers dictating my income or increase levels. So the second thing I did was to research who earned the highest salaries.

Also, I had no desire to sit in a cubicle for the rest of my life. I know the journey is not straight, but with determination, I made a decision. We’ve come a long way since the nineties, and I’ve grown with technology.

I know without technology, I wouldn’t have been able to work fast, hard, and monitor my results. So a decision to earn more, but not in a slave mode. I owe a great thanks to my English teacher, Mr. Crawford. A man who wore Stacey Adams shoes, straight seamed trousers told me at seven years old I’d be a writer.

For all the short years I lived in San Francisco and saw the beautiful landscape, I had no idea what I would do. What was good for me?
Another thing Napoleon Hill stressed, ”Tell the world what you intend to do, But first show it” (p. 211.) Furthermore, I loved the passage where Mr. Hill wrote on the decisions Abraham Lincoln faced. His decision to even think of ending slavery with the stroke of a pen cost him dearly.

We all know he made a decision that changed the course of the nation. Most importantly, he was born to execute that decision, and he paid the price. At the risk of being hanged or shot by firing squad, they wrote The United States’ Constitution. Today more people know the names of the men who took a risk making way for amendments to include all citizens.  

What decision or decisions you will make in these changing times of technology and financial independence?

Leave a comment