MY WRITING STYLE AND WHAT READERS CAN EXPECT IN READING MY BOOKS

I use a great deal of dialogue and describe my characters’ movements in detail. For instance, I use hand gestures. A character’s action is a description of a foot movement, what they do before, they move, and their facial expression.

I don’t use exclamation marks and try to avoid adverbs. I find as I improve, it is true I don’t have to think about it. I eliminate adverbs most of the time. I use a dictionary and thesaurus. Also, I check between American English and British because I want to make sure my characters are speaking the correct way from both sides of the Atlantic.  

Most of the time, I’ll describe an action of the character before showing who is speaking. For example, With pressed palms on the desk, the woman’s head tilted, she said, ‘I don’t know.’

I emphasize on mannerisms of eating and drinking. For instance, my lead detective is a coffee drinker with the occasional sip of Perrier water. As for colleague Jennifer Wang as the sergeant with the detective, she has a thing for jogging suits and fusses a great deal on her long locks. She’s also and not stereotyping a great technological wiz.

I tend to wrap up my thoughts into the writing program Grammarly first. It helps me to change a sentence that might be ‘monotonous.’ When I complete writing for the day, I paste all text into Google Docs because if I’m away from home and anywhere in the world, I can retrieve my work without any issues.

Leave a comment