A SURPRISE I LEARNED ABOUT MY OWN WRITING–DIALOGUE!

If you think you’re in control when writing a novel, think again. Some weeks ago, I stumbled upon a Podcast by Brad Reed, ”Inside Creative Writing,” and he was talking about dialogue.  

At the beginning of my writing journey, with the detective, and reviewing other novels in other genres, I thought I wasn’t writing enough descriptive or extensive details within the paragraphs. I found myself writing short paragraphs and the pen took over which resulted in writing a great deal of dialogue.

To my encouraging surprise, Brad Reed assured my fingers and brain that I’m doing an exciting thing because after he attended a Hollywood Screen Writers workshop, the dialogue is [adored] and simple action. Also, I didn’t set out to write my novels in this manner; they developed on their own. 

I, myself, have never been to a screenwriters class nor read screenplays, and learning how characters can take over was amazing. I have been writing action scenes all along. Furthermore, another way to write effective dialogue is when characters are not answering each other. Ernest Hemingway used this method a great deal. For example, ”The beer is nice and cool,” he said.

”It’s lovely,” she responded.

Leave a comment