THE LAST KINGDOM– A REVIEW

Recommended by a friend, I sat on an acrylic chair in the corner of her bedroom and entered into the world of ”The Last Kingdom.” The lead actor, Alexander Dreymon demonstrated a realism of character that sometimes, I thought I was in this occupied territory once owned by Demark.

Set in the 1000s, The series is an overall stage of what happened to make England the country it is today. I want to talk about brilliant writing from the mind and fingertips of Stephen Butchard. I haven’t finished the entire series as of this writing but was overcome by his brilliance with scenes and words. Ernest Hemingway is quoted as saying, [Good] writing comes from an experience [you’ve had.]

Stephen Butchard indeed as screenwriter captured all of my emotions. For example, He captured my heart with the horror of the character Thyra was humiliated, raped, and mentally abused by her captor and his father.  

As the camera moved onto the actress’s face, you knew she wasn’t just in character, she embodied that sole for you saw her strength, perseverance, and will to live. With the spirit of patience, she waited for years to see her dogs eat her captor. It was horrible and I had to stand a few times.  

Anger, rage, and completion were as character Erik digs his knife or sword, it was shocking, I can’t remember [Joke] mutilated his enemy. Above all, With all the suffering, humiliation, and betrayal, I saw the patience in the eyes of Uhtred, played by Alexander. The kingdom of England would be his one day.

Leave a comment