LOSING MY BOUNCY LOCKS TO CHEMOTHERAPY AND MAKING OUR WAY BACK.

My hair, thank God it’s finding its way back from beneath my skull. The curls are showing and I’m learning how to care for my scalp. I found one Youtuber I’m comfortable with. ”Curly Chemistry,” who understands the chemistry of hair products.  

We’re talking about a $1.2 trillion industry in 2020 with estimated sales from 2018 at $2.51 billion (Essence.com.) In short, The pandemic didn’t affect this market.

Well, enough of numbers and let me take you humorously in my hair journey. Although I felt uncomfortable seeing my bald head in the mirror. It’s a woman thing and still, I refused to wear a wig. In the past, my bouncy locks took some time to grow and now I’m back on the pavement for new growth.  

There’s hope for me because I’m excited and on the journey to those long curls. Here’s what I did before the cut of my hair by the invader, Mr. Chemotherapy. I divorced my curling iron, parked my rollers from Sally’s, and introduced my head to Camille Rose and Maui Vanilla Bean. Their job was to let Mr & Mrs. Frizzy know, you’re not welcome at the Hightower of headless.

I need no comb but invited my ten fingers to massage Mrs. Head for her daily The Carlyle Hotel routine. I take my fingers into the marketplace online and there’s so much to choose from. What a great world we live in. Even heads growing their strands get to choose who their present and future mate will be.

Oh! that’s it; I received an email from ”Bridgerton,” to get some newer ideas to style the small curls before my next writing conference.

Leave a comment