THE DAY I LEFT HOME

Go For It!

You can’t speak your dream only; you have to act it out. At thirteen years old and just finished watching one of my favorite television series, ”The Biotic Man,” with Lee Majors, I kept dreaming or more like visualizing where I’d be in my twenties.  

I spent a lot of time listening to my dad’s wisdom, watching him read the newspaper and viewing the horse race track latest surprise, but not in a million years did I think I would in the future be writing or soon to write or rewrite a novel inspired by a woman horse race jockey.

At thirteen without the fanfare of the internet or my iPhone, I dreamed of returning to the United Kingdom, visiting Canada and my final destination would be the United States of America. This dream was fulfilled within thirteen years.

But what was my expectation when I arrived in America? The great excitement of course. I enrolled in college, debated with one of my professors who attended Columbia University that there was no such thing as a ”Just Society.” I fought him to the dean’s office and won.

I use to use watch the television detective series, ”McMillan & Wife, starring Rock Hudson and Susan Saint James but had no idea one day I’d lived in the beautiful San Francisco, and I did live in the great city. It breaks my heart to see the conditions reported and to hear people are leaving.

If I didn’t leave home, the dreams I achieved wouldn’t have been done. I wouldn’t have visited France and seen Rome. So the day I left home was the start of living and I’m glad I did. The next chapter is to finish the dream by completing the novels and characters I’ve fallen in love with.

Leave a comment