WHY I USED MY LEGAL SKILLS TO WRITE NOVELS?

A WORK IN PROGRESS

At one point, I lived in San Francisco before Google lined its office spaces along the drive. I remembered attending an interview for a job as a Paralegal in Burlingame, California less than fourteen miles from San Francisco. The interview went well until I was asked about driving. At the time, I didn’t have a driver’s license. In short, I didn’t get the job.

On the other hand, I worked in a small law firm for six months but hated the fact the owner wanted me to pick up his laundry. I quit. I don’t know about anyone, but I knew all the jobs I had were not what I wanted to do. I must confess, I didn’t like people telling me what to do. I still don’t.  

I knew all the jobs I threw myself into were limited. Writing the novels with the use of my legal skills had made the journey so much easier. I can create my situations, a world I’ve created with no one to tell me it can’t be done or achieved.

 As I write a scene with either attorneys or solicitors in the United Kingdom, I can write what I know from experience. For instance, If a character is reading a contract, I’ll know what elements to write so that the reader can have a clear picture.

 In one of the scenes of my first novel, the character Susan Powers is an inventor. I have a good understanding of copyright law and was able to incorporate some procedures of how she should properly apply for a patent. If it’s one thing I received from college that has been a great benefit to my career is the legal knowledge I learned. So many students should think like this. 

 If you’re undecided as to what you want to do before you leave college think about what would you do if you can’t find a job before you get that diploma. I took legal classes because I like the law and fell in love with Constitutional Law. I thought I would go on to law school but it didn’t happen and so I turned to write, my first love indeed.

.

Leave a comment